B.K.S. Iyengar was a tremendous, sincere, and committed yoga practitioner and genius teacher who made the yoga practice available for all human beings.

He started practicing at a young age when he was quite ill.  His total dedication and discipline led him to a deep understanding of the body and its connection with the soul.

Through the many years of practice and teaching, B.K.S. Iyengar developed a methodology of practice and teaching with two major guidelines: alignment and precision.

He explored the use of props, such as wooden gadgets, belts, ropes, and blankets to help practitioners achieve perfection in any āsana. The use of props allows the āsana to be adapted to any particular person’s conditions. They also teach the body the correct actions to achieve the perfect pose.

The props don’t simply make the pose easier. They act as teachers and guide the practitioner into the pose.

Yoga BKS Iyengar doing Bhujapidasana

His students began calling this very unique way of teaching and practicing IYENGAR® yoga. This system is now followed by IYENGAR® certified teachers around the world.

Despite this nomenclature, all yoga practices are one.

Regardless of having left his body in 2014, Guruji keeps inspiring and guiding thousands of yoga practitioners and teachers all over the world.

Certified teachers



Being a certified IYENGAR® yoga teacher means one is a regular and committed practitioner who has gone through, and keeps going through, a demanding and judicious process of study and evaluation.

For one to start a teacher training, one needs to be a student of IYENGAR® yoga for a minimum of three years, and the course, itself, lasts a minimum of two years.


The Teacher Training primarily focuses on:


Personal practice


Acquiring clarity in giving instructions

Learning to make subtle adjustments with the use of props

Understanding problems faced by specific individuals.

Once the Teacher Training is complete, one is subject to an evaluation exam.



The Certification Levels in Teacher training are as follows:


Level I


Level II


Level III


Level IV

NOTE: Part of the text and information from


Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Pinterest